2012 Summer Movie Crushes

The summer movie season is coming to a close.

A list like this was inevitable.

You’re welcome.

Chris Hemsworth as The Huntsman, “Snow White and the Huntsman”

Boom shaka laka, y’all.

Hemsworth as Thor is definitely the more obvious choice, but I much preferred his portrayal of a gritty, less-than-perfect protector of Snow White. I don’t even have anything else to say here, other than the man can swing an axe.

Joseph Gordon-Levitt as John Blake, “The Dark Knight Rises”

No, you make MY dreams come true.

I have eternal, undying love for JGL, so this is kind of a no-brainer. But JGL as a cop? A caring good guy? Who gets things DONE? I’m in. I am in, and he didn’t even have to sing or dance or make wing-flapping arm motions. I’m ready for another Christopher Nolan film featuring JGL, for sure.

Jeremy Renner as Aaron Cross, “The Bourne Legacy”

Don’t bother him! He is doing manly things!!!

Oh my gosh, you guys. This is a MAN. A man scaling houses, wrestling wolves, rescuing damsels, riding motorcycles down handrails, and shooting ALL THE THINGS. I wouldn’t call myself a huge Jeremy Renner fan or anything, and I wasn’t particularly excited about “Legacy.” But once I was in the theater seeing Renner kick massive amounts of tail, I was sold. When my jaw wasn’t on the floor, my arms were literally extended into the air in triumphant HECK YEAH fists. And by the end of the movie, our entire row of females was basically fainting all over the place over Jeremy Renner and his supremely capable man hands. Good gracious.

Tom Hiddleston as Loki, “The Avengers”

RIGHT???

I know, okay? I KNOW. I’ve been getting grief all summer for my crush on Hiddleston’s deliciously evil Loki, so I KNOW. But gosh: that evil, knowing smile he gave to Bruce Banner. His comedic time. That line delivery. How do you NOT love that?

Okay but also:

Like a boss.

and most importantly:

 

Like I said: You’re welcome.

4 thoughts on “2012 Summer Movie Crushes

  1. I wonder, do you think you could remember your 2011 Summer Movie Crushes? And what about 2012 Summer Movie GIRL Crushes??

    I share your admiration for JGL. In fact, it has partially inspired my next post, to be published tomorrow.

  2. Summer 2011 Movie Crushes:

    1. Chris O’Dowd as Nathan Rhodes in “Bridesmaids.” He became an ALL TIME movie crush, so for sure he is at the top of the heap. I love that character. Such a NICE, caring guy, plus he’s really funny and just sweet and also did I mention Irish. Boom shaka laka indeed.

    2. Michael Fassbender as Magneto in “X-Men First Class.” The movie would have been SO MUCH BETTER if it had focused just on Magneto and his hunting down of former Nazis.

    3. Kyle Chandler as Deputy Jackson Lamb in “Super 8.” Okay, I will admit that this is probably due to the fact that HELLO IT’S COACH TAYLOR. But still, you gotta love a cop who’s trying to be a good dad.

    4. James Phelps as Fred Weasley in “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2.” I have always loved Fred and George, but Fred in particular. He is absolutely hilarious, and he really got to shine in the last HP film.

    5. Chris Evans as Steve Rogers in “Captain America.” Hahahaha just kidding. He’s boring. Selfless and heroic, yes. But also bland and vanilla. Bing bong who cares.

    No girl crushes to speak of, honestly. I don’t really get ScarJo, and while I love Emma Stone, she’s been more crushable than she was in “The Amazing Spider-Man.”

Leave a Reply

