Good Music: Kevin Olusola & Karmin

It’s no secret that in addition to the growing laundry list of pop musicians that I loathe, I am not a fan of talent show tv. However the two that I have made allowances for in the last year are The Voice and The Sing-Off.

The Sing Off in particular showcased some of the most remarkable vocal talent I’ve EVER seen/heard. Dani gave them props in her blog too, but I’d like to take a moment to give props once again to Pentatonix. Scroll down to Dani’s last entry and watch the 3rd video for a great rendition of Gotye’s hit single, and then do yourself a favor and feast your ears on the solo work of one of their beatboxers, Mr. Kevin Olusola:

America does indeed Got Talent. But it isn’t anywhere on that show. Anyway, Kevin is brilliant and does a bang up rendition of Justin Bieber’s “Baby” too.

Speaking of Biebs, he is not on my aforementioned list. We are an an unabashedly pro-Biebs household who do enjoy mindless pop in reasonable doses, including the Jepsen Anthem and these crazy talented people: 

I love them. I can’t help it. If you’ve somehow never seen them sing “Superbass” or “Look At Me Now“, watch them immediately. Nicki Minaj and Chris Brown should be fired on the spot.

Now that I’ve forfeited my indie hipster card, please excuse me while I purchase tickets to the Pentatonix show at The Old Rock House.

1 thought on “Good Music: Kevin Olusola & Karmin

Leave a comment