Good Music: Mellow Sunday

This week we’re going to be focusing on music-related topics like some of our favorite music, concerts, instruments, etc. We’re gonna start with a hodge podge of quieter music.

I’m a classics guy. I grew up on Elvis, Buddy Holly, Marvin & Tammi. When I started playing guitar, I moved into the world of Jimi Hendrix, Led Zepellin, Lynyrd Skynyrd. While my tastes have certainly grown and changed, I think 60s music and guitar-based rock is still my home base.

Some of my favorite songs from the classic rock guys aren’t necessarily the hardest ones. For example, while Voodoo Child is my favorite heavy Hendrix song, I probably spend the most time listening to slower ones like The Wind Cries Mary, Castles Made of Sand, Burning of the Midnight Lamp, and Little Wing.

If you’ve never heard Little Wing, it’s a short, dream-like song with a lot of gorgeous guitar and some great lo-fi effects. I’d recommend to listening to it on a good stereo or head phones you so can catch the phasing and panning. Personally, I’m always faithful to Jimi and I think his version is the best. If you’re interested, there’s a cool little wing Jam that Steve Vai, Joe Satriani, and Orianthi made last year:

Another guy that was pretty fond of Jimi Hendrix was Texas’ own Stevie Ray Vaughan. In keeping with the softer side of rock, check out Stevie’s 12-string acoustic work on Life By the Drop:

In a completely other world, but sticking with chill music, I’d recommend RAC’s cover of Daft Punk’s Something About Us:

And finally, Slow Down by Poolside:

Leave a Reply

