What You Should Eat

There’s nothing quite like a nice grocery store. It’s amazing what a difference a nice environment makes when you have a mundane chore to do.

In St. Louis, my favorite grocery chain to shop at is Trader Joe’s. Here are a few items currently spicing up our kitchen:

Peanut Butter Oat Bars: Not gonna lie, I’m obsessed with these right now. When I’m in a hurry in the morning, I make a quick strawberry watermelon smoothie and grab one of these and head out the door. I’m determined to find/create a copycat recipe so I can have a whole batch at my house. But it’s probably a better use of my time/money to just buy them. Anyway, these things are SO delicious that you will have to force yourself to ration them, as there are only 6 in a box. They’re not super cheap– but at roughly 50 cents a piece for the best breakfast/granola type bar I’ve ever tasted, they are absolutely worth it.

Pretzel Slims: At just over $2 a bag (unless they’re on sale) these have become a staple in the Genteman house. They are relatively healthy and make a great midday/pre-dinner snack when combined with either of the two things below. (They also come in a spicy flavor AND covered in dark chocolate. I haven’t tried the latter, but I have eaten them with refrigerated dark chocolate cake frosting and they were delicious– so I imagine they’re probably great.)

 

 

Tomato Basil Hummus Dip: At the moment, my favorite hummus of all time. If I wasn’t such a savorer, I could easily devour a whole container  and roughly half a bag of pretzel slims in 2 sittings. It taste a little like pizza sauce. Amazing, chickpea-zza sauce. I’m sure it would be great in a number of dinner recipes too, I’ll have to look into that and get back to you.

Cookie Butter: Ohhh, the cookie butter. I’ve never had anything like it. It’s actually made from pulverized cookies and I find it to be tooth-rot sweet in the best way, like sweet tea in a small southern town or strawberry Blow Pops. I feel like I should probably brush my teeth after I eat it, so I don’t eat a LOT of it in one sitting. That’s probably a good thing. For my teeth, my waistline and my wallet. But it is a MUST try, and a versatile, delicious way to eat $4. It goes awesome with pretzel thins, it’s lovely on bread, and if you want to eat more of it, I suggest scooping it with granny smith apples or organic celery.

Annnnd now I’m hungry. Happy grocery shopping!

Leave a Reply

