Lone Reed

“People are always saying that change is a good thing. But all they’re really saying is that something you didn’t want to happen at all… has happened.”

Nora Ephron passed away yesterday.

I can’t seem to get far beyond that sentence. No, I didn’t know her. I don’t know all about her life; I don’t own all of her movies.

But I think she was smart. And special. And the world could use more witty, intelligent, innovative women like her.

Upon finding out this sad news last night, my friends and I were quoting “You’ve Got Mail” (written and directed by Ephron) so incessantly that we had no choice but to stop and just put the movie on already. This just led to more quoting, a significant amount of marveling at the charm of Tom Hanks, and collapsing over one another at Joe Fox’s “fighting over which video to rent” monologue.

After the film ended, I posted said monologue to my Facebook profile, with no other context or explanation. Soon enough 24 people (all females) had liked the status, and added their thoughts and feelings about “You’ve Got Mail.”

The point is nothing more than we love this little film. This little film that somehow is so special. So re-watchable. So different from so many other banal or vacuous romantic comedies. This one is very different. This one is fun and lovely and perfect and delightful and witty and joyful and wonderful.

So thank you to Nora, for giving us a perfectly respectful romantic comedy to love and adore. Thank you for this film and so many others. Your voice will be missed!

“It will all shake out. Meanwhile, I am putting up more twinkle lights.”

4 thoughts on “Lone Reed

  1. “I don’t think any day is worth living without thinking about what you’re going to eat next at all times.”
    ― Nora Ephron

    “I Feel Bad About My Neck” – is one of my favorite books. The audio version (read by the author herself) is delightful.

Leave a Reply

