The Jepsen Haiku

When a song gets stuck in your head, it can have serious consequences. Some poppy, upbeat songs just dig into your brain and begin to change the very structure of our brain. This pattern is almost like a virus in the way it spreads. I was infected by Joey and Val who posted on Facebook a video of Carly Rae Jepsen playing her song “Call Me Maybe” backstage with Jimmy Fallon. I, of course, shared this bit of entertainment with my wife. This was a fatal error because the sweet thing is very susceptible to song infection. But this time, something different happened. The chorus so affected her brain that she began to use it to form a new structure for poems. The result is both clever and adorable.

So we were getting ready to go to lunch with my family and she texted me this from the other room:

On another day, I was making pizza dough with our electric mixer while the baby was napping. I checked my phone when I was done and found this message:

Something else you should know about my wife is that she has an insatiable love of ice cream. After having a big lunch, I ran to the grocery store to get some non-ice-cream-related things. While walking through the parking lot I received this text:

I had tried and tried to get away from having this song stuck in my head for days. Yet due to someone else posting it on the internet or hearing it come on the radio every 20 minutes, I was not able to get away from it. This last poem from my wife was too much. I caved in, and responded in kind.

If you get a song stuck in your head, be careful who you share it with.

(Disclaimer: Stephanie bedazzled her contact name in my phone.)

Special note: Next week I will be posting a live-blog of my viewing of “This Means War.” If you haven’t seen it and plan on renting it, wait till next week to you can read along as you watch.

3 thoughts on “The Jepsen Haiku

  1. I love this post!!! I was thinking of writing about this damn song this week too, ha. It is the glitter of pop music– shiny and kind of delightful until suddenly it’s EVERYwhere and you can’t get rid of it. Todd and I are definitely guilty of composing these haikus too, hehe! Your response was hysterical! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Good Music: The OC « The Corner Booth

  3. Pingback: Good Music: Kevin Olusola & Karmin « The Corner Booth

Leave a Reply

