Broadway Baby

If you’re anything like me, you’ll agree that sometimes there is nothing better than discovering a fantastic new musical, even if it’s only new to you. If you’ve been looking for a new soundtrack to get into, might I recommend….

Newsies: The Broadway Musical
Whether or not you already love the original movie version of this Disney musical, you should check out the Broadway cast singing the old favorites plus some outstanding new numbers. AND? It’s up for the Tony Award for Best Musical! June 10, people. Get excited.
Standouts: “Once and For All,” “Watch What Happens,” “Something To Believe In”

Dirty Rotten Scoundrels
This is absolutely, hands down the FUNNIEST musical I have ever seen. You don’t even have to be a musical person to enjoy this one. It’s just awesome. Awesome and hilarious.
Standouts: “Love is My Legs,” “Here I Am,” “The Reckoning”

Ragtime
Big and sweeping. Epic. Fun to sing along to. What more could you want?
Standouts: “Ragtime,” “Crime of the Century,” “Sarah Brown Eyes”

Wicked
If you like musicals at all, surely you know ALL ABOUT “Wicked.” But if by some chance you don’t know it, hi. Welcome to your new favorite thing. It’s wonderful and hilarious and swankified and gloriously green.
Standouts: “Dancing Through Life,” “The Wizard and I,” “Defying Gravity”

How To Succeed In Business Without Really Trying
I’ll admit: a good percentage of the reason I love this show is that I saw it in New York City starring Daniel Radcliffe. Yeah. THAT GUY. However, despite Mr. Potter’s involvement, it really is a fun musical and I still find myself listening to many of the songs a year later. You should check it out!
Standouts: “Been a Long Day,” “Grand Old Ivy,” “Brotherhood of Man”

Legally Blonde
The first time I heard they were making a musical of the Reese Witherspoon movie, I mocked it and laughed and thought the whole idea was ridiculously silly. Now I know every word to every song, have seen it twice on stage, and own a DVD of the production that they taped for MTV. It’s basically amazing. Snaps!
Standouts: “So Much Better,” “Chip On My Shoulder,” “What You Want”

What do you recommend?

4 thoughts on “Broadway Baby

  1. You stole my thunder…I’ve been working on a similar post entitled Set List: Tony Edition! over on my new blog!! And be jealous because I have tickets to see Newsies next Saturday! 🙂

  2. Fabulous. Just watched them all and loved every second. For rocking out, “Jesus Christ Superstar.” For too many memories, “Grease.” For drama, “Phantom.” And for my favorite I second Dani, “Les Mis” with “One Day More!”

  3. So fun to watch the scenes from “Newsies!” Most memorable part? where the guy jumps up and lands in the splits on the exact count of a loud clap with the music. It makes it sound like something cracked when he landed! 🙂

    Love all that are mentioned! “Les Mis” being a personal favorite. But now I really want to see “Newsies!”

Leave a Reply

