Juliette

“If you are a dreamer, come in!
If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar,
A hoper, a pray-er, a magic-bean-buyer,
If you’re a pretender, come sit by my fire,
For we have some flax golden tales to spin–
Come in! Come in!”
― Shel Silverstein

I’ve had it with being a dreamer.

Since the time I first read this poem (circa 1993), I’ve fancied myself a lot of those adjectives… all the positives ones, anyway. But I think I drifted off into said dreams without ever reading the end of that poem, and subsequently never heeded the action it encouraged.

For nearly two decades, some part of me has continued to wander creatively, drifting in and out of new ideas, creations, hopes, wishes and half-completed flax golden tales.

I am not a finisher.

I’m sure, such is the struggle of many creatives. But what good are creations in a reclusive state, safe from critique and deprived of everything else? Hidden away from anyone who might gain something from it? No good at all. It’s haunting really, how many vain hours and abandoned characters peek at me from color-coded file folders every time I open my laptop.

But– I’ve HAD it. I’m done being just a dreamer.

I’m two months behind traditional resolution-making time, but I don’t care. Today? I take my first steps toward becoming a finisher. A sharer. A vulnerable artist with the guts to breathe time and life into my creation and then turn it loose on the world. I can’t pretend I’m going to be hella bold about it, but I need to start somewhere. And somewhere is today.

And you get a front row seat to this process. Aren’t you excited? 🙂

All that to say– my name is Juliette. I love epic stories and superheroes and sunshine and the library. My life belongs to Jesus. I know that I’m called to disciple others toward him– but I struggle continually with feeling inadequate to do so. Which is tough, since I’m married to a pastor/church planter (an incredibly good-looking one who resembles Wolverine) and live in the heart of St. Louis, a city that is desperate for the Gospel. Fortunately, there is grace for all of my fears.

I’m the mother of a black & white boxer named Gotham and two months out from becoming the mother of a little girl, who is destined to have the cutest afro west of the Mississippi. Like several of my fellow Boothers, I attended Abilene Christian University—but the degree I got from there has had way less bearing on my life than the relationships formed with my fellow Wildcats. I love loud colors, unusual words, cooking and eating good food, and being married to my best friend.

I am a very much a work-in-progress, grateful to be welcomed at this booth as I work to become a finisher.

Leave a Reply

